Interruptions

do not disturb

Writing is a way of talking without begin interrupted. – Jules Renard 

Is it possible to completely remove distractions and interruptions when making art?  I love what Jules Renard said here; the first time I heard it, I laughed.  However, I don’t feel so isolated with I’m writing, drawing or painting.  Maybe Renard referred to the fact that I can start a thought and finish that same thought, edit it, and be forgiven for any blunders (because no one will ever see them).  I’ve read in so many different places that’s it’s important to have a distraction free zone when you write or create anything.

Well . . . after the rest of the house, husband, toddler and two dogs, go to bed, I do have the house to myself.  I can stay up and write freely, if the toddler decides to go to bed and stay in bed.  Ever read Go the F*** to Sleep by Adam Mansbach?  I have one of those toddlers.  Last night, after singing half a dozen song, milk, water, and three books, he looked at me and said, “I don’t sleep here anymore, Mama.”

“Oh,” I said, “where do you sleep?”

“I’m trying to sleep out there,” and he pointed to the TV and counch.

More or less, concentration is important to craft and art, any form of art.  I tell my students all the time that if you’re using your brain for talking, then you’re using less of it for drawing.  That’s actually true.  According to Merriam-Webster, “distraction” means “mental confusion.”  If you look at the etymology of the word, the mid 15th century defined it as “a drawing away of the mind.”  As if, there’s no use of the mind during a distraction.  Weird, huh?  So how does an artisan get to a distraction free zone?  For now, I will have to settle with late night writing and drawing.

What about you?  Are you able to have a distraction free zone to make your art?

Have a good evening everyone and happy reading,

Biz Boston

Author: bizboston

BIZ BOSTON . . . is an art educator, writer, artist, painter and drawer in Missouri, USA. Born in United States of America and raised practically everywhere in it. She is fascinated with nonlinear narratives and memory. Artwork shares perspectives while simultaneously stirring alternative ones. Her paintings are created in oil, and her drawings are vary from pastel, charcoal, and graphite.

2 thoughts on “Interruptions”

  1. I tend to get up very early on the weekend and have my time to write/draw while everyone else is asleep. Works out pretty well with a wife, and two young daughters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

